Facebook Users Are Being Warned About a New Phishing Scam

Facebook Users Are Being Warned About a New Phishing Scam

According to security experts, a new phishing scheme is taking place. It targets administrators of corporate websites on Facebook.

According to ZDNet, Irregular Stability detected emails sent to Facebook users. It states that their account will be completely canceled if the issue is not resolved immediately. 

The purpose of the scam is to scam people. Transfer their passwords and personal information. Presumably to control the websites of the companies they watch.

The Fake Feeling of Urgency

First, the target receives an email from “The Facebook Team” warning them. If they share other people’s pirated information until they attract an immediate claim, their account will be closed.

An Email has two one-way links, a link that takes the recipient to an authentic Facebook submission—allowing bypass of email protection products and services. And another link takes them to a website where they can “advocate their cause.”

This malicious website does not include any malware. It asks for personal information from the victim, such as their name, email address, and Facebook password.

Rachelle Chouinard, Risk Intelligence Analyst at Irregular Safety. He commented on the research results. He says their false sense of urgency catches individuals today off guard.

“This is adequate to convince recipients to give their particular data. If they are applying their Fb account for enterprise needs,” explained Chouinard.

Even if the attackers did their best to hide that the emails did not originate from Facebook, there are still some red flags for those interested in details. For example, the sender’s address is not the same as the Facebook domain, and hitting “reply” will result in an unrelated Gmail address.

According to scientists, respectable businesses never use language that frightens listeners.

Individuals are not even confident if something is wrong with their accounts. They must log in by entering the address directly into the browser or clicking a hyperlink. If anything goes wrong with the account, there will be a pending notification on the profile website.

Facebook-Users-Are-Being-Warned-About-a-New-Phishing-Scam

Picture: Techradar

Phishing Scams

Fake email scams have been around for a long time. Users of Facebook are not immune to receiving them.

A phishing email will include a link to Facebook and some language encouraging you to click the link. It’s not the actual Facebook, though it’s a fake.

On occasion, the website may have accounts that have been compromised. It may also ask you to validate your login credentials. Sending you an email link to reset your Facebook account is becoming increasingly popular. For security reasons, the disclaimer was turned off.

The purpose is always the same, regardless of the reason. Cybercriminals are requesting confidential information from you.

Unfortunately, if you fall for this typical con, you will be disappointed. Cybercriminals have access to all of the data they require to cause havoc in your life. Depending on the details you supply. They can take control of your Facebook account and deceive your friends by posing as you. They might be able to gain access to it as well. Also, empty your bank account or make fraudulent purchases with your credit card.

This method isn’t restricted to sending emails. Cybercriminals are increasingly using Facebook Messenger to transmit the same kind of links.

4.5
2 ratings
Paul Syverson
WRITTEN BY
Paul Syverson
Paul Syverson is the founder of Product Reviews. Paul is a computer scientist; he used to carry out a handful of significant studies which contributed to bringing in many special features on the site. He has a huge passion for computers and other tech products. He is always diligent in delivering quality writings to bring the most value to people. Syverson.org |

Advertisement